Sancho, Greenwood, Saka and Foden make Golden Boy shortlist – but face competition from Haaland, Fati and Vinicius

ENGLAND quintet Jadon Sancho, Mason Greenwood, Bukayo Saka, Callum Hudson-Odoi and Phil Foden were named on the 20-man Golden Boy 2020 shortlist.

The five young stars all excelled for their club sides in 2019-20 and are now senior Three Lions internationals.

However, they face strong competition in the 20-man list – including from Erling Haaland, Ansu Fati and Vinicius Junior.

The award, run by Tuttosport, is open to players born on or after January 1, 2000 and playing in a European nation's top tier – with 40 journalists voting on the top performer across the calendar year.

After an initial longlist of 100 was revealed in June, four cuts of 20 players mean it is now down to the final 20.

Sancho was pipped by Joao Felix a year ago but will be hoping his stunning form for Borussia Dortmund will see him go one better this time around.

The winger managed 20 goals and 20 assists last season and has started the new campaign with a goal and two assists in his first three appearances.

Greenwood is hoping to become the record-extending fourth Manchester United player to be crowned the Golden Boy.

Wayne Rooney (2004), Anderson (2008) and Anthony Martial (2015) have all picked up the award in its 17-year history.

And the academy graduate's 19 goals in a stunning breakout season will surely make him a contender.

Saka earned his break in Arsenal's Europa League campaign with his versatility down the left a key attribute.

Handed the No7 shirt at the Emirates over the summer, the teenager has continued to impress as Gareth Southgate handed him his debut against Wales during the international break.

Hudson-Odoi made 33 appearances for Chelsea last season despite injury and has drawn attention from the likes of Bayern Munich.

And Foden made the most of his run in the Manchester City team to force his way into the shortlist and Southgate's plans.

The Stockport Iniesta scored five goals after the season restarted in June and has already added another two this term.

However, Haaland's bonkers return of 44 goals in 40 games last season for Red Bull Salzburg and Borussia Dortmund places him among the favourites.

He also nabbed his first international hat-trick this week to take his tally to 11 in ten so far this season.

Elsewhere, LaLiga giants Barcelona and Real Madrid each have two nominees.

Golden Boy 2020: Final 20-man shortlist

Mason Greenwood (Man Utd)

Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)

Phil Foden (Man City)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Ferran Torres (Man City)

Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea)

Fabio Silva (Wolves)

Ansu Fati (Barcelona)

Rodrygo (Real Madrid)

Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)

Sergino Dest (Barcelona)

Dejan Kulusevski (Juventus)

Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes)

Mitchel Bakker (PSG)

Jonathan David (Lille)

Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)

Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)

Dominik Szoboszlai (Red Bull Salzburg)

Sandro Tonali (AC Milan)

Fati, who does not turn 18 until the end of October, burst on to the scene with the Nou Camp club last term and is already outscoring Lionel Messi at the same age.

The teenage sensation has already played and scored for Spain's senior side while records continue to tumble in LaLiga and the Champions League.

He is joined by new team-mate Sergino Dest – the American right-back who signed from Ajax this summer.

Over at the Bernabeu, Brazilian duo Vincius and Rodrygo make the shortlist as they helped Los Blancos win the league title.

Champions League winner Alphonso Davies is in – as is his Canadian pal Jonathan David after his stellar season at Gent, scoring 23 times last season and earning a transfer to Lille.

Premier League newbies Ferran Torres and Fabio Silva, who joined Manchester City and Wolves respectively, ensure a quarter of the list ply their trade in England.

Rennes star Eduardo Camavinga – linked with Real Madrid and Manchester United – Paris Saint-Germain's Mitchel Bakker and Ryan Gravenberch of Ajax are on the list.

And Juventus' Dejan Kulusevski, Dominik Szoboszlai of Red Bull Salzburg and AC Milan star Sandro Tonali complete the shortlist with the result set to announced on December 14.

Golden Boy award: Previous winners

2003 – Rafael van der Vaart (Ajax)

2004 – Wayne Rooney (Everton / Man Utd)

2005 – Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

2006 – Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)

2007 – Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid)

2008 – Anderson (Man Utd)

2009 – Alexandre Pato (AC Milan)

2010 – Mario Balotelli (Inter Milan / Man City)

2011 – Mario Gotze (Borussia Dortmund)

2012 – Isco (Malaga)

2013 – Paul Pogba (Juventus)

2014 – Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

2015 – Anthony Martial (Monaco / Man Utd)

2016 – Renato Sanches (Benfica / Bayern Munich)

2017 – Kylian Mbappe (Monaco / PSG)

2018 – Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax)

2019 – Joao Felix (Benfica / Atletico Madrid)

Source: Read Full Article